• Mrs Tanja Cox – Trust Governor (Chair)
  • Mr Martin Wilby – Trust Governor
  • Mrs Sandy Clark – Trust Governor (Vice Chair)
  • Mrs Moira Croskell – Headteacher Governor
  • Mr Alex Boothby – Associate member
  • Mr Paul Slater – Parent Governor
  • Daria LePort – Staff Governor
  • Julia Penn – Staff Governor
  • Samantha Bartlett-Rawlings – Parent Governor

Dickleburgh C of E Primary Academy is part of the Diocese of Norwich St Benet’s MAT and has one Local Governing Body which covers the Beacon Federation of Dickleburgh C of E Primary Academy and Garboldisham Church Academy.  All the Governors are volunteers who are committed to ensuring that the school provides the best education possible for the pupils in line with the agreed aims.

We contribute to the strategic leadership of the schools by working closely with the Executive Headteacher. We support and challenge the staff in a number of ways, however it is not our role to be involved with the day to day management of the schools.

Our main responsibilities are

  • Ensuring clarity of the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the Academy
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the Academy and its pupils
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the Academy and making sure its money is well spent

The full governing body meet at least six times a year but most governors sit on at least one of the three committees and all the committees meet at least once a term. The committees are:-

The Standards and Curriculum Committee
This committee monitors the provision of the curriculum by talking to staff, subject leaders and pupils and visiting the classrooms to see examples of the work the children are doing. They receive reports from school staff about successes and challenges connected with the delivery of specific areas of the curriculum. They also agree and review the schools’ policies to ensure they are kept in line with current requirements.

The Ethos and Community Committee
This committee is made up of members of the governing body who represent the school’s  close links with the Church of England. They receive reports from the school and are responsible for reviewing the policies on the teaching of Religious Education and Collective Worship.

The Resources Committee
This committee is responsible for approving the  budget and for reviewing its progress throughout the year. The Academy finance officer attends these meetings and the school’s finances are looked at in detail every term. This committee also deals with all areas of safety for the pupils and staff connected with the premises and grounds of each school, and  meet every term with a specific Health and Safety focus.

All Committees have delegated powers and they report back to the full governing body after each of their meetings.

The Governors work very hard to support all areas of the life of the school.

Resources Committee

  • Sandy Clark (Chair)
  • Martin Wilby
  • Moira Croskell
  • Julia Penn
  • Daria LePort
  • Samantha Bartlett-Rawlings
  • Louise Allen (Finance Manager)

Ethos & Community Committee

  • Tanja Cox (Chair)
  • Sandy Clark
  • Paul Slater
  • Alex Boothby
  • Moira Croskell
  • Ian Clayton

Standards & Curriculum Committee

  • Tanja Cox (Chair)
  • All governors
  • Moira Croskell

Governor Membership and Interests-18-20


Governor Meeting Attendance

List of St. Benet MAT Trustees

DfE Governance Handbook – March 2019

LGB Code of Conduct (St Benet’s)

Re-Appointment of Trustees Local Governors

Contacting the Governors
The Chair of Governors, Tanja Cox, can be contacted through Dickleburgh Academy : Chair of Governors, Dickleburgh C of E Primary Academy, Harvey Lane, Dickleburgh, Diss, IP21 4NL, 01379 740080 or office@dickleburgh.stbenets.org